top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichael Mannix

Take a BRAKE

Cars now have automatic braking control. This Snap! script compares the braking of a car that is manually controlled by the user and another car with automatic brake control. Basic physics is applied to the braking of each car. The automatic braking system is significantly better, every time I have run the script.


I am looking forward to shaping a lesson around this script. I expect to have students fill in missing blocks or detail. This lesson connects to constant-velocity motion, uniform acceleration, Newton's 2nd Law, friction, and impulse and momentum-change. I like that they have a chance to "drive" one of the cars. The script is the easy part. I still need to shape it for student use and plan a lesson with supporting resources and prompts. I don think this is an especially rich assignment that is a good example of how great Snap! can be in learning physics.


Physics teachers may notice I use the impulse form of Newton's 2nd Law. The script is easily modified to use the F=ma version of N2L. In fact, this minimal change re-enforced, for me, the the simple fact that the impulse and momentum-change theorem is N2L that has been rearranged from its usual textbook formulation.

22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Kinematic Equation Solver

I have been surprised with the difficulty my students are having completing the first project (see previous post). I felt that I virtually gave them the code. However, trouble persist. Very telling

bottom of page